Vargas: Undocumented and hiding in plain sight. Child Immigration Issue

24 Jul 2014 10:35 - 24 Jul 2014 10:36 #1 by ScienceChic
So what are your views, and does this make you re-consider the issue based on this perspective?

Vargas: Undocumented and hiding in plain sight
By Jose Antonio Vargas, Special to CNN
June 30, 2014

"What do you want to do with me?"

What do you want to do with us?

How do you define American?"

On behalf of 11 million undocumented immigrants like me -- many of us Americans in all but papers -- I asked those questions to the Senate Judiciary Committee swampland.time.com/2013/02/14/jose-anton...al-senate-testimony/ in February 2013, nearly two years after I publicly outed myself as an undocumented immigrant in The New York Times Magazine.

Against the advice of lawyers, I wrote, in detail, what I had to do to live and survive in America: hide in plain sight as I worked as a journalist for more than a decade; lie on government forms to get jobs while paying taxes and contributing to Social Security (undocumented workers provide billions in both); grow estranged from my mother in the Philippines who put me on a plane to the United States in 1993. In outing myself, I risked everything and prepared myself for anything.

What I was not prepared for, however, was silence, especially from politicians in Washington, where immigration has become the third rail of American politics, often framed in partisan, polarizing terms, mostly subjected to elections, and tied to the future of political parties.

Jose Antonio Vargas produced and directed the CNN Film " Documented ". He writes that making the film 'is an act of civil disobedience' to humanize a 'politicized issue'.

From his website joseantoniovargas.com/
"Not Legal, Not Leaving"