The EV Dream is Dying

21 Nov 2023 20:33 #1 by Rick
The EV Dream is Dying was created by Rick
As if there was ever a way to make that happen in the first place. I work in the industry and I talk to a lot of dealers who actually know more than the fools in Washington about damand. Now I realize I'm likely to get some backlash (hopefully), but this is something I've been predicting, on this and other boards for years.

I welcome anyone who disagrees to explain how this country can afford the infrastructure to support EV's and how the averge poor and middle class citizen will be able to puirchase an EV... everyone who is currently driving a car. My mind is open.... hit me.

It was always the women, and above all the young ones, who were the most bigoted adherents of the Party, the swallowers of slogans, the amateur spies and nosers−out of unorthodoxy

George Orwell

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

21 Nov 2023 20:39 #2 by FredHayek
Replied by FredHayek on topic The EV Dream is Dying
I think EV's work in certain circumstances and can decrease our consumption of fossil fuels. Example, city folk who don't drive large distances. Suburb folk who can plug in cars at home.

But it is a horrible idea to ban ICE automobiles. Let Americans have choices.

Thomas Sowell: There are no solutions, just trade-offs.

22 Nov 2023 08:35 #3 by Rick
Replied by Rick on topic The EV Dream is Dying
It's not as much about giving Americans a choice, most of them don't have a choice, they can afford what they can afford, and that's not a new EV. As for saving on fossil fuels, what do you think EV's are powered by? A battery? I've done some research on these new fast chargers and there's now way the masses could use enough of those at one time without building many more power plants that use fossil fuels... tehy don't want nuclear either.