Chickens have completely stopped laying...

05 Feb 2016 09:38 #1 by RJ
Fellow Chicken owners,

I'm new to chickens, and I have a question for those of you up here who also have them. My three hens turn 2 years old in April, but they haven't laid all winter. They laid productively last winter, but haven't had a single egg this cold season. Is this normal? I've done tons of research online, but I thought I'd ask the mountain community, since we do have unique weather and elevation up here. I hope the girls aren't completely done laying forever...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

05 Feb 2016 09:47 #2 by HappyCamper
Had a friend tell me that maybe the coop is not warm enough they may not start laying again till spring even if you warm it up a bit.

05 Feb 2016 09:51 #3 by RJ
That's kind of what I was wondering. They have a heat lamp, but it's been consistently cold this winter. I hope that's all it is, because I'd love to see eggs again this spring.

05 Feb 2016 13:24 - 05 Feb 2016 13:25 #4 by HappyCamper
Do you also own a Boston Terrier or did you just like the picture that you have on your profile?

Friend also to me to tell you to make sure your chickens are getting the right amount of calcium because if that is too low the shell of the egg can not form and or it will be very thin.

05 Feb 2016 13:32 #5 by RJ
I do own a Boston! The picture I put up isn't mine, though. I couldn't get mine to sit still for two seconds to get a decent picture, lol. It looks like you've got a Boston too? They're amazing dogs. I think I'll always have one.

That's great advice about the calcium! I looked into it just now and read something about ground oyster shells. I'm going to run to Big R and buy some. That might help. All I've given them up til now has been layer feed, but maybe they are short on calcium. Great advice! I'll definitely post here if/when I get eggs again. Fingers are crossed.

05 Feb 2016 14:54 #6 by HappyCamper