Candidates promise transparency; good, because we don’t have it right now

03 Feb 2018 07:05 #1 by Flume editor
I’ve been very interested in the recent rush of candidates for the office of Park County sheriff. In my opinion, one of the most important campaign promises that any of these candidates could make would be to recognize that they have a public duty to share information with the residents of the county.

I’ve been working at The Flume for a bit over four years. And during that time I have seen our Sheriff’s Office slowly, but surely, dial back on the information that they release to our newspaper and to the public in general.

And I’m not just talking about information that would put the office in a negative light or a compromising position. Even positive actions by deputies and the department, actions that would highlight how they work hard to protect and serve the county, have been withheld.

Continue reading ...

www.theflume.com/free_content/article_13...23-2f1bd5ef248d.html
The following user(s) said Thank You: ScienceChic

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

03 Feb 2018 08:45 #2 by ScienceChic
Thank you Walter for touching on what I agree is one of our most important issues in this upcoming election (frankly not just at the local level, but that's for a separate discussion).

Flume editor" wrote: There is a huge groundswell of people who have had it with being ignored and at times, downright lied to. As part of my job at the newspaper, I keep in touch with the pulse of the community, and I can honestly tell you, many have had it, not only with the secrecy of the Sheriff’s Office, but with behind-the-scenes machinations of our Board of County Commissioners.

My question to all of the candidates running for open seats in this election cycle, “Will you promise to communicate honestly, in an effort to let the community know what their county government is doing to responsibly carry out its public duty?”