Any Fly Tiers out there?

21 Aug 2010 18:20 #1 by Photo-fish
Where do you buy your materials?
What have you tied lately?
Your favorite local patterns? For bass or trout?

I am a novice. I tie only about a dozen or so patterns right now. Just what I use around these parts. I get my materials from Blue Quill or The Hatch. I used to go to the South Platte Angler in Conifer before it closed. I have some luck at at craft stores occasionally for beads or floss and chenniles.

I am tying lots of wooly buggers lately. Elk and deer hair caddis, bead head anythings and a wide variety of mystery flies and midges. Have a whole bunch of beetles but nowhere to fish for bluegills.

Once I start, it is hard to stop. I often find myself whip finishing my last fly at 2:00 AM.

´¯`•.. ><((((º>`•´¯`•...¸><((((º> ´¯`•.. ><((((º>`´¯`•...¸><((((º>´¯`•.. ><((((º>`•´¯`•...¸><((((º> ´¯`•.. ><((((º>`•.´¯`•...¸><((((º>

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

21 Aug 2010 18:23 #2 by chocolove
Replied by chocolove on topic Any Fly Tiers out there?
I have scarlet macaw feathers for anyone that wants them. We get really tiny ones and we get big ones if you want them. They aren't all red either, we get blue, yellow, green, etc.

24 Aug 2010 08:08 #3 by Martin Ent Inc
I order from the internet. Also tie special jigs and things for Ice fishing. I am not real great but it is fun to catch something on a fly that you made.

24 Aug 2010 08:43 #4 by Grady
Replied by Grady on topic Any Fly Tiers out there?
I support The Hatch. :biggrin:
I've found over the years that I'm just to twitchy to tie a good fly. Heck my kids wouldn't even let me get out splinters on em. :VeryScared:

24 Aug 2010 08:58 #5 by CinnamonGirl
Replied by CinnamonGirl on topic Any Fly Tiers out there?