The Joy of Sox

15 Jul 2010 14:36 #1 by KnitKnook
The Joy of Sox was created by KnitKnook
Since our last entry was a free sock pattern, I thought you’d enjoy hearing from a recent convert to sock knitting. This is from our guest writer this week, Sally Ball:

While I’ve been knitting for several years, I had absolutely no desire to knit socks. Ever. Picture tiny little double pointed needles that look like you’re knitting with a porcupine. Anytime I had tried them in the past I was all thumbs. (Although I still have a mitten – yes, just one – that I attempted a couple of years ago on DPN’s and ironically enough, it still has no thumb.) Plus that downside of getting all excited when you complete one and realize you have to make another. That matches. Nope, not for me.

Then recently I was commissioned to make a couple of Christmas Stockings which brought to my attention the fact I’d better learn to make a sock. So, off to the Knit Knook for a visit and some guidance from Diane (who can teach anybody anything). It just goes to show that there must be a season for everything because now I am freakin’ hooked. Like an addict, I’m mainlining sock yarn like there’s no tomorrow.

Why such a turnaround? Well, first, let me tell you that nothing makes you feel more of a smarty pants than a well turned heel of a sock. Seriously, I have made total strangers at parties admire my socks – even one still on the needles. And they are boggled – especially if they’ve had a bit of decent wine. Awesome party trick – whip out a sock in progress.

Secondly, they’re such portable little suckers! You can shove a skein of sock yarn and needles in a pocket. (Beware of poorly planned sitting occurrences, though.) I was walking our mile of road last weekend kicking big rocks out of the way (another story entirely) and knitted a good chunk of sock at the same time! I felt like quite the multi-tasker. I’d like to go find a line to stand in just so I can work on a sock.