Help! Temper Tantrums!

03 Apr 2011 16:20 #1 by Moonchild
I have a question that I hope you can help me with. My toddler (1 1/2 yrs. old) has started having temper tantrums. Is this normal for her age? And what happened to my sweet little darling?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

03 Apr 2011 16:32 #2 by jf1acai
Replied by jf1acai on topic Help! Temper Tantrums!
Yeah, it is normal, and the sweet little darling will come back in about 20+ years :wink:

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert, just another dumb dad! lol

Experience enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again - Jeanne Pincha-Tulley

Comprehensive is Latin for there is lots of bad stuff in it - Trey Gowdy

04 Apr 2011 06:55 #3 by CinnamonGirl
Replied by CinnamonGirl on topic Help! Temper Tantrums!
LOL, I can't wait to hear about this one. It seemed to me they went through it at 2 then it felt like like they had tantrums in their teenage years as well.

04 Apr 2011 09:38 #4 by ComputerBreath
Yes, it is absolutely normal. My youngest son used to throw himself on the floor and bang his whole body against it. If we were at home, I just let him do it until he exhausted himself...and I ignored him...it was the ignorning him that got his attention because he soon realized he wouldn't get any attention from mom. If we were in public, I would gently (sometimes I didn't feel like being gentle) take him out to the car, put him in his car seat and let him throw his fit.

He grew out of it and several people that witnessed his public explosions commented on how calm I was...I wasn't calm on the outside...but me being calm helped keep the situation from escalating. Furthermore, his older brother witnessed these tantrums and learned not to do that!

Your sweet darling is learning to assert her independence. It is all part of childhood.

04 Apr 2011 10:16 #5 by Kid Central
Replied by Kid Central on topic Help! Temper Tantrums!