INSPIRING LEADERSHIP

28 Jul 2010 16:08 #1 by AV8OR
INSPIRING LEADERSHIP was created by AV8OR
This election cycle we, for the most part, have chosen who we would like to represent us for the next four years. Arguably, we are witnessing large groups of people in uproar about how government is or is not representing us - The People.

In my mere opinion, it appears that there is more animosity against candidates and a sincere distrust as to the intent of the candidate. I, for one have reflected such in my posts.

All the while we criticise others, we are not ourselves coming up with SOLUTIONS. Now, don't get me wrong, there are a few splinters of solutions and I do not take that away from you. Keep it up!

One thing is certain, providing GOD allows it, four years will come and the posts of 2010 will be mere "I told you so."

How can we cultivate or bring out true "Leadership?" When I studied "leadership" in school I learned it as "The art of influencing others so as to accomplish a mission." First, we have to ask what is our mission? That will vary by elected office.

In the interest of writing a thread that is readable before the next election cycle, I will just take ONE office and relate "leadership" in that capacity.

COUNTY COMMISSIONER (Park County in this example):

In my mere opinion, much focus has been from a "reactionary" position. The current commissioners have shown us, whether intentionally or not, that they are in a mode of "bailing water out of a sinking boat." Rather than looking at the cause of the leaks so as to stop the leak, or even better - preventing it.

An example would be, the shortfall of revenue coming into the county is forcing the commissioners to CUT costs. On the surface, this is not a bad thing. As any business leader would do, "cost cutting" would be implemented. This tends to work as long as "spending" in other areas is not increased. This is a necessary "REACTION."