Can you question patriotism?

11 Mar 2011 07:43 #1 by Mayhem
If there is one thing that gets a liberal it is calling them out on whether or not their conduct is that of a patriot. Note I said conduct. A thought, or a belief is not conduct. Then there are those who believe they are beyond reproach. The glaring example of this around here would be

guntottingliberal wrote: I am an Honorably Discharged Veteran. I served 6 years active duty in the United States Navy. 5 years in the Naval Reserves. 8 years as a contractor for the United States Navy. And currently 2 years as a contractor for the US Dept of Commerce. I served my country and continue to serve my country. If you want to question my patriotism because you disagree with my views on the environment, first ask yourself what have you done for your country.

What we have here is another life spent on the govt. tit. No clue of how money is made. There are plenty of people who are joining the military and military reserves for reasons other than love of country. Some are joining for the carrots that the recruiters are dangling. Some are joining just so they can undermine the efforts of the military. Some are joining out of frustration with home life. According to John "I once served in Vietnam" Kerry some are joining out of desperation. Point is not everyone who joins the military is doing it because they are a patriot in their heart.

Spending your working life living off the taxpayers tit doesn't make you a patriot. And claiming it does makes you look like an ass. The guys and gals who get up every day and go and bust their hump on the farm, mine, oil field, factory, office, etc etc and pay huge portions of their income in taxes to the govt. are patriots. But they don't walk around beating on their chest going "Look what a good boy am I" do they?